A Toast to the 2013 AAPEX Show and Reception


New WB President, Amy Mattinat with Female Service Shop Owner of the Year, Diane Larson

After a busy opening day at the Automotive Aftermarket Products Expo (AAPEX), 260 people made their way to the 16th annual Women’s Board (WB) reception featuring the Automotive Communications Awards, Women of the Year and scholarship presentations, drinks, and great networking conversation.

“[The reception was] big enough to include the people who are really making things happen in the aftermarket industry, yet intimate enough to have meaningful conversations with those you want to get to know better,” said Kristen Stanton, RepairPal.

With just under 50 awards to be given out, there were plenty of industry movers and shakers about. A record 221 entries were submitted this year for a variety of awards in both business-to-business and business-to-consumer categories. Supported by the Automotive Communication Council (ACC), the WB awarded innovative thinking in all areas of communications, honoring efforts in everything from press releases to YouTube videos and Pinterest pages. The best-in-show winners, selected by ACC, were the Armored Auto Group for their B2C social media efforts and The Timken Company for their corporate image campaign.

“There was positive energy in the room and it was great to see the professional interaction and mutual respect between men and women,” said Robbie Addison Haas, Automotive Service Association.

For a full list of winners, see the press release here. The Women’s Board would like to thank Tony Molla from ASE for being a wonderful emcee for the event!

The reception was also a big night for the WB as Ruth Ehlinger, AAA, passed the presidency on to Amy Mattinat, owner, Auto Craftsman Ltd. The Women’s Board presidency lasts three years and associates of the WB voted earlier this fall. Congratulations Amy!


Paula Lombard, AutoTex PINK, accepts the award for Aftermarket Woman of the Year.

The WB Career Leadership committee announced Paula Lombard, founder, AutoTex PINK, and Diane Larson, owner, Larson’s Service Inc., as the Aftermarket Woman of the Year and Female Service Shop Owner of the Year, respectively. These women are chosen based on their commitment, leadership and success in the aftermarket industry. Learn more about these winners here.

2013 Womens Board Scholarship Recipient

Winner Nicole Kelsey with Vonda Lee, education committee chair for the WB.

Becky Babcox’s son, Robert Kepple, was in attendance to present the WB scholarship award named in his mother’s honor to Nicole Kelsey, who also received a trip to AAPEX. The Women’s Board scholarship program is now in its eleventh year.

“This organization’s focus on mentorship and its holistic approach to making the industry at large better is something we all need and benefit from,” said Stanton.

Awards may just have been given out, but the Car Care Council Women’s Board never stops thinking about next year. The WB also announced that beginning in June 2014, Continental will be partnering with the WB scholarship program to administer the Continental Female Leadership Scholarship.

Preparations are also underway for the second annual silent auction! Last year we raised $5,000 at the silent auction which helped us to reach a record amount given in scholarships. We want to beat that this year. The silent auction will take place at the winter meeting, February 4-5 in Charleston, S.C. Please consider donating an item to our silent auction! Anything from gift cards to collectibles to automotive-related items are welcome. Contact Linda Rudd at lrudd@bfrc.com for more information.


About cccwomensboard

The Car Care Council Women’s Board is comprised of auto care professionals dedicated to providing opportunities, education and career leadership to women in the auto care industry. www.wbcarcare.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s